The Australian Immunisation Handbook 10th Edition

Appendix 7: Overview of vaccine availability in Australia

Page last updated: 01 August 2017

PDF printable version of Appendix 7: Overview of vaccine availability in Australia of the 10th edition of the Handbook (PDF 85 KB)

Table A7.1 provides an overview of key dates when vaccines first came into widespread use in Australia. This table provides only some dates; for specific details on vaccine registration, funding, recommendations and program use, please see complete information in the ‘NCIRS Vaccination History Tables’ available from the NCIRS website. These tables, listed by vaccine type, provide a summary of the significant events in vaccination practice in Australia, particularly for vaccines used in population-based immunisation programs. Additional information regarding vaccines available in each jurisdiction can also be sought from your local state or territory Immunisation Department.

Table A7.1: Key dates when vaccines first came into widespread use in Australia
Year Vaccine
1945 Tetanus toxoid
1953 Diphtheria-tetanus-pertussis, whole-cell (DTPw)
1956 Poliomyelitis (Salk) (inactivated poliomyelitis vaccine [IPV])
1966 Poliomyelitis (Sabin) (live attenuated oral poliomyelitis vaccine [OPV])
1970 Measles
1971 Rubella
1975 Child diphtheria-tetanus (CDT)
1982 Adult diphtheria-tetanus (ADT)
1982 Measles-mumps
1982 Hepatitis B (hepB) (serum-derived vaccine)
1987 Hepatitis B (recombinant vaccine)
1989 Measles-mumps-rubella (MMR)
1993 Haemophilus influenzae type b
1994 Hepatitis A
1997 Diphtheria-tetanus-pertussis, acellular (DTPa)
1999 Influenza
1999 23-valent pneumococcal polysaccharide (23vPPV)
2000 DTPa-hepB
2000 Hib(PRP-OMP)-hepB
2001 7-valent pneumococcal conjugate (7vPCV)
2003 Varicella
2003 Meningococcal C conjugate
2004 Diphtheria-tetanus-pertussis, acellular; reduced antigen content formulations (dTpa and dTpa-IPV)
2005 Pentavalent and hexavalent combination DTPa vaccines (DTPa-hepB-IPV-Hib; DTPa-IPV; DTPa-hepB-IPV; DTPa-IPV-Hib)
2007 Human papillomavirus (HPV)
2007 Rotavirus
2009 10-valent pneumococcal conjugate (10vPCV)
2011 13-valent pneumococcal conjugate (13vPCV)
2013 Measles-mumps-rubella-varicella (MMRV)